Focus Merit

Suresh Chandra Sharma appointed as first chief of NMC

Government appoints the chief of Delhi AIIMS’ ENT head-neck surgery department, Professor Suresh Chandra Sharma, as the chairman of National Medical Commission. Rakesh Kumar Vats, the secretary general in the board of governors of the Medical Council of India (MCI), has been appointed as the secretary of the Commission for the similar term.

On August 8, President Ram Nath Kovind had given assent to the National Medical Commission (NMC) Act, 2019, which provides for a system that improves access to quality and affordable medical education and ensures availability of adequate and high quality medical professionals in all parts of the country, among others.

The Act replaces Indian Medical Council Act, 1956. The new law provides for setting up of an NMC in place of the Medical Council of India for development and regulation of all aspects of medical education, profession and institutions.