Focus Merit

South Africa: ICC U-19 World Cup Cricket begins

The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 will take place between 17 January and 9 February 2020 in South Africa. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe are automatic qualifiers and have been joined by five regional qualifiers Canada, Japan, Nigeria, Scotland and the UAE.

Indian team, under the captaincy of Priyam Garg, will look to defend the title when it begins its campaign against Sri Lanka at the Oval, Bloemfontein. India are placed in Group ‘A’ and will face New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Japan, who will be making their first-ever appearance in any World Cup.

India is the most successful team in the tournament, having won four titles till date, including the last edition in 2018. After playing Sri Lanka in their first group game, India will facedebutant Japan in their next group match on the 21st of this month.