Focus Merit

Dr. B. Saha elected as Bureau Member of IUPAC

In the recently held election in Paris to elect IUPAC Bureau Members, Hyderabad scientist Dr. Bipulbehari Saha was elected as the Bureau Member of IUPAC for the period 2020-2023. Dr Saha is closely associated with the “International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)”. He has been awarded the Homi Bhabha Gold Medal by Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC). Earlier, one of the known Indian scientists who was elected at a similar post was Dr C. N. R. Rao.

The factors considered by the voters were a scientific contribution of the candidate in the field of Chemistry, his leadership qualities, thoughts for the future etc. IUPAC is the largest global organization of Chemistry professionals. The IUPAC has the responsibility of naming all new elements and compounds, declare atomic weights and physical constants, update Periodic table and carry out research projects for the benefit of mankind.