Category: Committees

Rajiv Gauba: search-cum-selection committee

Rajiv Gauba
  • A search-cum-selection committee formed by the Central govt with an objective to nominate and select three members for Monetary Policy Committee (MPC). This selection committee is headed by Rajiv Gauba.

Dr. V K Paul Committee on Vaccine Administration for COVID-19

V K Paul Committee
  • Centre formed a Dr V K Paul Committee on Vaccine Administration for COVID-19. The purpose of the committee is to look for all the aspects of its COVID-19 vaccination plan, including the identification of the effective vaccine, buying and financing of the purchase, as well as its distribution and administration.

D. P. Singh Committee: To explore ways to attract more students to study in India

  • The HRD Ministry has set up a committee to form guidelines and suggest measures to ensure that more students study in India and there is a smooth transition for students returning from abroad due to COVID-19 situation.
  • The committee headed by D. P. Singh, chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC).The committee will present its report within 15 days.

RBI starts Report of Committee For Analysis of QR Code led by Prof. Deepak B Phatak

Reserve Bank Of India (RBI)

  • On July 24, 2020, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) publicized the “Report of the Committee for Analysis of QR (Quick Response) Code” under the leadership of Prof. Deepak B. Phatak on its website for comments/suggestions of various industry players.
  • The committee has advised phasing out of proprietary, closed-loop QR codes as it requires customers to manage separate apps.
  • The committee was constituted by RBI on 23rd december 2019.

SEBI Revamps advisory committee on mutual funds


  • The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) has re-constituted its advisory committee on mutual funds that advises the capital markets regulator on matters related to regulation and development of the mutual fund industry.
  • The revamped advisory committee on mutual funds has 20-member and will be headed Usha Thorat, former deputy governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI).

Roles & Responsibilities of the committee:

  • Issues related to regulation and development of the mutual fund industry.
  • Disclosure requirements and measures required for a change in the legal framework to introduce simplification and transparency in mutual fund regulations