Category: Awards

ISA Solar Awards conferred for the first time

International Solar Alliance Coalition
  • During the third Assembly of the International Solar Alliance (ISA), the Solar Awards were presented to the countries of the region as well as institutions working for solar.

Winner List

  • Visvesvaraya award: Japan for the Asia Pacific region and the Netherlands for Europe and other regions.
  • Kalpana Chawla awards: Dr. Bhim Singh from IIT Delhi (India) and Dr. Aaesha Alnuaimi from Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (United Arab Emirates).
  • Diwakar award: Arpan Institute (Haryana) and Arushi Society

Central bank of the year award 2020

Central bank of the year award
  • The 2020 Central bank of the year award won by the “Bank of Ghana” and the Governor of the year award won by the Governor of the Bank of England, Mark Carney.

2020 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

2020 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences
  • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Sveriges Riksbank  (Sweden’s central bank) Prize in Economic Sciences to Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson “for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats”.

Poet Nityananda Nayak to receive Sarala Puraskar

Sarala Puraskar
  • Nityanand Nayak will be conferred the prestigious Sarala Puraskar for his poetry work ‘Setebelaku Nathiba’ which was published in 2017. The poet will be felicitated with a cash award of `5 lakh and a citation.
  • For the contribution to fields of music and art, Ranjit Kumar Nag and Shyamsundar Pattanaik will be felicitated.

2020 Nobel Prize in Peace announced

Nobel Prize 2020
  • The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2020 to the World Food Programme (WFP) which is the world’s largest humanitarian organization addressing hunger and promoting food security.

Nobel Prize in Literature, 2020

Nobel Prize in Literature
  • The first female poet to win the Nobel Prize in Literature since Wislawa Szymborska in 1996 is Louise Gluck for her poetry. Other women who have received the prize in the literature category were all writers and not poets.

Other winners of 2020 Nobel Prize

  • The Nobel Prize for Chemistry, 2020 was awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A Doudna for “Development of a method for Genome Editing”.
  • The Nobel Prize, 2020 for Physics has been awarded to Andrea M Ghez, Roger Penrose and Reinhard Genzel for their research on black holes. They discovered the existence of a supergiant black hole in the centre of Milky Way.
  • The Nobel Prize for Medicine or Physiology has been jointly awarded to Harvey J Alter, Charles M Rice and Michael Houhgton. The prize was awarded for the discovery of Hepatitis C.

Nobel Prize 2020 announced

Nobel Prize 2020
  • The Nobel Prize awarded by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden.

List of Nobel Prize 2020 winners:

Physiology or Medicine:

  • Harvey J. Alter(America), Charles M. Rice (America) and Michael Houghton (Britain) for the discovery of the Hepatitis C virus.


  • Roger Penrose for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity.
  • Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.


  • Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna “for the development of a method for genome editing”.


  • Louise Glück “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal”.

Nobel Prize for Physics, 2020

Nobel Prize for Physics
  • Roger Penrose was honored for the discovery that black hole formation is robust prediction of theory of relativity
  • Andrea Ghez and Reinhard Genzel have been honored for the discovery of a supermassive object at the centre of the Milky Way Galaxy.

Right Livelihood Award 2020 announced

Right Livelihood Award 2020
  • The Right Livelihood Award Foundation has announced the four winners of the 2020 Right Livelihood Award 2020.
  • The four activists Ales Bialiatski of Belarus, Nasrin Sotoudeh of Iran, Bryan Stevenson of the United States(US) and Lottie Cunningham Wren of Nicaragua shared the 2020 award for their contribution towards equality, democracy, justice and freedom.