Focus Merit

Andhra Pradesh likely to have four Regional Capitals

Amid uncertainty over the future of Amaravati as Andhra Pradesh’s capital, Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy is planning to build four regional capitals. Rajya Sabha member T.G. Venkatesh claimed that YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) government may prefer to develop capitals in four different regions to ensure the state’s all-round development.

The Chief Minister will be the ex-officio Vice-Chairman of the board, while at least one Member of Parliament, two members of the State legislature (elected), four other members from that zone (nominated by the state government) will be members of the Board. Each zone will have a full-time secretary, who will be nominated by the Government. A Principal Secretary rank officer will be considered for the post.

The four capitals are likely to be developed are Vizianagaram for the north-coastal Andhra zone; Kakinada for East and West Godavari districts; Guntur for the south coastal Andhra; and Kadapa for Rayalaseema. As Amaravati comes under Guntur district, whatever buildings constructed so far may be used for one of the capitals.